016546044Box Office 01635 46044
Go to What's On


By William Shakespeare

'Expect the unexpected in an evening of magical delight' ★★★★ WhatsOnStage

‘A playful production... fizzing with humour, charm, and just a touch of chaos' ★★★★ The Stage

'Big-hearted and dazzling' ★★★★ The Spy in the Stalls

'Inventively directed by Paul Hart... an absolute joy' Newbury Weekly News

‘You don't have to be a 'Shakespeare person' to love the Watermill Theatre's current production of A Midsummer Night's Dream.’ Onstage Blog

‘This is a superb production, and the best Dream I’ve seen.’ Newbury Theatre

‘One truly appreciates the world of Shakespeare in all its exhilarating imagination’ There Ought to be Clowns

Thu 10 May 2018 - Sat 16 Jun 2018

Pity the fool who falls in love…

Following the great success of last year’s Twelfth Night and Romeo + Juliet, the Watermill Ensemble return with A Midsummer Night’s Dream, fusing actor musicianship with one of Shakespeare’s greatest comedies.

Four lovers escape the decorum of the royal courts, eluding tradition and etiquette on one fateful, intoxicating night in the Athenian woods.

Secrets, love and mistaken identities collide with a fusion of rich and beautiful music inspired by the hedonistic soulful sounds of Nina Simone and Billie Holiday.

Hermia is to be married to Demetrius.But she actually loves Lysander and after the lovers runaway to marry in secret, pursued by Demetrius, who has been told by Helena of their plan, all respectability begins to unravel.

Enter an enchanted world of dreams and passion, where the powerful spirits of a midsummer’s night will put a spell on you.

‘This highly talented company… creates many magical and inventive theatrical moments’  British Theatre Guide

‘A fresh and richly coloured take on a timeless tale’  The Stage (Romeo + Juliet)

Running Time
Act One: 1 hour
Interval: 20 minutes
Act Two: 1 hour 13 minutes 

Listen to the songs inspiring the creative team of A Midsummer Night's Dream


Directed by Paul Hart
Designed by Katie Lias
Lighting designed by Tom White
Sound designed by David Gregory
Movement by Tom Jackson Greaves

Victoria Blunt


Eva Feiler


Lillie Flynn


Joey Hickman


Tyrone Huntley


Emma McDonald


Offue Okegbe


Jamie Satterthwaite


Mike Slader


Sophie Stone